Annual Luncheon

2019 Annual Women 4 Women Luncheon 

presented by Fifth Third Bank

Murray Liz PROMOPIC 002


Keynote Speaker Liz Murray 

Co-Founder and Executive Director of The Arthur Project

Presented by Brown-Forman Corporation


  • Registration

    Join us for our Annual Luncheon on Wednesday, September 25, at Louisville Marriott Downtown. Networking begins at 11:30 and the event begins at noon.

  • Sponsorships


    Show the community that you are a Champion for women and girls by becoming a sponsor! For more information about sponsoring the 2018 Annual Luncheon, call 502.561.8060 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

    Sponsorship Opportunities

    Presenting Sponsor  Sold
    Speaker Sponsor  $15,000
    Ruby Sponsor  $7,500
    Emerald Sponsor  $3,500
    Amethyst Sponsor  $1,500

  • Speaker

    Murray Liz PROMOPIC 002
    Welcome 2019 Keynote Speaker, Liz Murray
    From homeless to is an unlikely turn of events. Liz Murray’s life is a triumph over adversity and a stunning example of the importance of dreaming big. Murray was raised in the Bronx by two loving but drug-addicted parents. She grew up in poverty, often without enough food, chronically absent from school and most of all, struggling to connect her education to a viable future.
    By age 15, Murray’s mom had died and she was homeless—living on the streets, riding the subway all night, and eating from dumpsters. Amidst this pain, Murray always imagined her life could be much better than it was. “I started to grasp the value of the lessons learned while living on the streets. I knew after overcoming those daily obstacles that next to nothing could hold me down.” Determined to take charge of her life, and with the support of an upstairs neighbor and trusted family friend named Arthur, Murray finished high school in just two years and was awarded a full scholarship to Harvard University, all while camping out in New York City parks and subway stations.
    Murray’s story is exhilarating and inspirational. Her delivery is innocently honest, as she takes audiences on a very personal journey where she achieves the improbable.
    Her story sounds like a Hollywood movie—and it practically is. Lifetime Television produced a movie about Murray’s life story entitled Homeless to Harvard, which was nominated for three “Emmy Awards”. Murray is the recipient of the White House “Project’s Role Model Award” and Oprah Winfrey’s first-ever “Chutzpah Award”. Her memoir, Breaking Night, is a New York Times best seller and an international bestseller published in twelve countries, in eight languages.
    Today, Murray is a passionate advocate for underserved youth. As Co-Founder and Executive Director of The Arthur Project, a mentoring program that works intensively with at-risk youth through the duration of middle school, Murray is working to end generational poverty through relationship-based learning.
    She believes that when it comes to a child facing even the most extreme adversity, it is having a relationship with at least one caring, dedicated adult that can make all the difference.
    Murray graduated from Harvard in 2009 and received her Masters degree in the Psychology of Education at Columbia University. She is passionate about speaking on the importance of personal motivation, transforming problems into opportunities, and what it takes to make a difference in people’s lives.
  • Heart of Community Award

    This award honors a person or organization that has given beyond the limits of ordinary activity. The award is earned by one whose life is shaped by the mysterious power of the human heart, who believes this to be true:

    "The heart sees as the eyes cannot. It guides as intelligence cannot. It leads as strength cannot. The heart transforms knowledge into wisdom, brings focus to passion, and effect to commitment. The heart surpasses self, illuminates darkness, and inspires excellence. As we release the heart, fear fades, and our best, as one or many, stands clear before us." - Author Unknown

    This award was first given in 2002 to celebrate the 10th anniversary of Women 4 Women. Recipients are recognized for their service and dedication to the community as a whole.

    Past Recipients:


    Alice Bridges



    Dawne Gee



    Reba Doutrick




    Lindy B. Street




    Joyce Seymour




    Mary Gwen Wheeler




    Madeline Abramson




    Nicholas X. Simon




    C. Dennis Riggs




    University of Louisville




    Bettie and Charlie Johnson




    Lois Mateus




    Bruce Maza




    Andy Fishcer, Debbie Scoppechio and Cathy Zion


Focus Areas

2019 Partners


Contact Us

Women 4 Women
323 W Broadway, Suite 201
Louisville, KY 40202


[email protected]